The Ion Ratiu Democracy Award Workshop: Ukrainian Democracy After the Maidan

Posted 10th February 2015

The Global Europe Program is pleased to host the 10th Annual Ion Ratiu Democracy Award Workshop on Ukrainian Democracy After the Maidan featuring keynote remarks the 2014 recipient of the Ion Ratiu Democracy Award, Mustafa Nayyem, a journalist, democracy activist and Parliamentarian in Ukraine. This event is co-sponsored by the Ratiu Family Charitable Foundation, the Ratiu Center for Democracy, and the Kennan Institute.

Mustafa Nayyem has been working at “Ukrainska Pravda” (“Ukrainian Truth”) since 2006, directing online media. In April 2013, along with several colleagues, he founded Ukraine’s first independent Internet TV Channel: This unique platform is funded by independent donations, and was created in response to censorship and media monopolization. Mr. Nayyem and played a crucial role in the “Euromaidan” protests. His Facebook post in which he issued a call to go to Independence Square (Maidan) in Kyiv, to protest the Ukrainian government’s decision to stop Ukraine’s process of integration into the European Union, was shared over one thousand times in a matter of hours. These protests precipitated the fall of President Yanukovych’s government and are evidence of the Ukrainian people’s struggle for freedom and democratic values, and Mustafa Nayyem’s actions around that time have placed him as an important leader of the protests. In addition, Mr. Nayyem won a seat in Parliament in Ukraine’s October 2014 elections
Established in 2005, the Ion Ratiu Democracy Award (IRDA) aims to bring visibility and international recognition to the ideas, ideals and accomplishments of individuals around the world who are working on behalf of democracy. It brings recognition to the importance of the work carried out by democracy activists around the world.  The event expresses the deep commitment to democracy of the late Ion Ratiu through his contributions as a Romanian politician as well as his interest in democratic change worldwide.
Previous awardees include Angela Kocze (Hungary,2013), Aung San Suu Kyi (Myanmar, 2012), Nabeel Rajab (Bahrain, 2011), Oleg Kozlovsky (Russia, 2010), Adam Michnik (Poland, 2009), Eleonora Cercavschi (Moldova, 2008), Anatoli Mikhailov (Belarus, 2007), Saad Ibrahim (Egypt, 2006), and Sergio Aguayo (Mexico, 2005).
1:00 - 3:00 Opening Remarks
The Honorable Jane Harman - Director, President & CEO, Wilson Center
Ambassador Victoria Nuland - Assistant Secretary of State, Bureau of European and Eurasian Affairs, U.S. Department of State
Panel I: Post-Revolution Democratic Consolidation
Mustafa Nayyem - 2014 Recipient, Ion Ratiu Democracy Award, Member of Ukrainian Parliament; Journalist, and Ukrainska Pravda
Oleg Kozlovsky - Director, Vision of Tomorrow Center; 2010 Recipient, Ion Ratiu Democracy Award
Corina Rebegea - Resident Fellow, Center for European Policy Analysis
Oleksandr Zaytsev - Fulbright Scholar, Wilson Center; Professor of History, Ukrainian Catholic University
Christian F. Ostermann, Moderator - Director, Global Europe Program, Wilson Center
3:15 - 5:00 Panel II: Ukraine in the World
Angela Stent - Director, Center for Eurasian, Russia and East European Studies, Georgetown University
Constanze Stelzenmüller - Director, Center for Eurasian, Russia and East European Studies, Georgetown University
William Miller - Former U.S. Ambassador to Ukraine, Senior Scholar, Wilson Center


Mustafa Nayyem - 2014 Recipient, Ion Ratiu Democracy Award; Journalist, and Ukrainska Pravda

Matthew Rojansky, Moderator - Director, Kennan Institute, Wilson Center
5:00 - 6:00 Award Ceremony & Reception

Follow us for Romanian news, events and culture

Connect on Twitter, Facebook or Instagram, or sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter

Receive updates on Romanian news, culture and events across the UK

Sign up to the newsletter